The Mission of the Idaho Board of Nursing is to regulate nursing practice and education for the purpose of safeguarding the public health, safety, and welfare.

2015 Idaho RN and APRN Renewals

Apply for renewal of your RN and/or APRN license using the new online IDAHO NURSE PORTAL.  Online license renewal begins May 13 and ends August 31, 2015.  You will need the following:  Idaho RN and/or APRN license number, last 4 digits of your Social Security Number and birth year, valid email address, MasterCard, Visa, American Express or Discover credit card. 

The RN and APRN license renewal application fee is $90.00.

REMEMBER…you must apply to renew your license no later than AUGUST 31, 2015 to avoid a late fee of $35.00 and the risk of practicing without a current license.

You may not renew your license online if one or more of the following apply to you:

  • Your license has lapsed for more than one year
  • Your primary state (other than Idaho) of residence is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact. (See for a list of current states) Exception: APRN with valid RN Compact license may renew online.

Enroll in Nursys eNotify:  Benefit for Nurses and Employers

For Nurses:  You will need to enroll in Nursys eNotify, a free service that will automatically send you electronic notification of any change in your license status as well as other licensure updates and related alerts. 

For Employers:  Nursys eNotify is a free innovative nurse licensure notification system where you receive real-time notifications of the license status of nurses employed at your institution.  The system provides licensure and publicly available discipline data in real time.

The Idaho Board of Nursing has established the 2015 meeting dates:

January 8-9, April 9-10, July 16-17, and October 1-2, 2015
Any information to be brought before the Board must be received in the Board office one month prior to the meeting date.

2015 Idaho Nursing Overview

The 2015 Idaho Nursing Overview, produced by the Idaho Department of Labor in collaboration with Idaho's

 higher education institutions with funding from the Idaho Board of Nursing, provides an overview of the nursing workforce in Idaho, focusing on nurse supply and demand and reported by a number of different variables.  Access the report on the IDOL website at:

Unless specifically noted, this site does not collect any personal information from the browser.  The only information collected at this site, unless otherwise specified, is generic information for statistical use only.

Some of the documents on this site are presented in Adobe PDF format and require the use of the free Adobe Acrobat Reader  software.  If you can't access information in PDF format for any reason, contact the Board of Nursing office (208) 577-2476.  Primary Source licensure information can be found at Nursys�


RN RENEWALS: Current RN licenses expire August 31, 2015. To renew your license, click on Idaho Nurse Portal and follow the prompts. After August 31, 2015, you may renew your license; however, there will be a late fee assessed.  If you have continued to practice nursing in Idaho with an expired license, an administrative fine may be assessed. Online late renewal for RNs is available until August 31, 2016.

APRN RENEWALS:  Current APRN licenses expire August 31, 2015.  To renew your license, click on Idaho Nurse Portal and follow the prompts. After August 31, 2015, there will be a late fee assessed.  If you have continued to practice advanced practice professional nursing in Idaho with an expired license, an administrative fine may be assessed.  Online late renewal for APRNs is available until August 31, 2016. Your professional nurse (RN) license must also be renewed prior to issuance of the APRN license.

LPN RENEWALS:The on-line renewal period for LPNs will begin June 1, 2016 and end August 31, 2016. LPNs can continue to complete late renewals until August 31, 2017, by contacting the Board office at (208) 577-2476 for instructions.

Additional APPN Forms Available:

Continuing Education Criteria

Peer Review Policy


Temporary licenses cannot be verified from this website.  Please contact the Board office at (208) 577-2476.  A faxed verification of temporary licensure is available upon request.